Watermansport Surf School Thierry Krawiec
Thierry Krawiec
Manager of the Watermansport Swimming School
  • (+33) 6 29 62 15 81

Mon-Sun: 09:00-19:00

Thierry Krawiec, head of the hossegor Watermansport swimming school, is of course a certified surfer but also a certified swimmer, first aid instructor and lifeguard trainer.

Thierry Krawiec knows the sea by heart.Portrait of this passionate and endearing person, with many activities.

The water barely reaches his waist, his gestures accompany the advice he gives to children.The snub suit, located in the middle of the pool of the Mickey Club of the South Beach of Hossegor, can be seen among the apprentice swimmers, who work on their breaststroke, crawl technique or simply familiarize themselves with this aquatic environment that Thierry Krawiec knows so well, almost from every angle. A kind of Philippe Lucas without the chains and necklaces. Also more versatile.

Its life is intimately linked to water, whether it is chlorinated or salty. And today, by looking at his career, it is easy to find this continuity, as each stage of his career seems to have prepared him for the challenge he has faced in recent years: preparing surfers for big waves, very big waves. As a logical continuation, a synthesis of his past experiences.

The elite of swimming

Because before the small pool of the Mickey Club, where children go from one length to the next, Thierry had known other pools, longer, deeper and above all much more competitive.50-metre pools in which it was necessary to train, suffer and tear each other away to win titles.”I stayed in the French swimming elite for about ten years.And in these time-trial sports, you have to have a taste for effort.

The management constantly pushes you with precise objectives to achieve.I also had the chance to train in the United States and Australia,” he says.

It was during these trips that the link was made with coastal rescue and surfing. “I loved the atmosphere. I have invested myself totally in it. I finished fifth in the world in individual, in Sydney, in paddleboard in 2000. I slept with pro surfers whom I still work with and I met athletes like Jamie Mitchell, a coastal rescue champion who has turned into a big wave surfer.»

Lucky Luke in wetsuit

Thierry also took advantage of this high level athlete’s career to create his own company and develop products adapted to his practice, with his colleague, David Dubès. Successful conversion!The company’s name, Watermansport, based in Hossegor, defines them both very well. Waterman refers in English to an accomplished swimmer, a lover of big waves and, above all, a first-class lifeguard.

In addition to swimming, surfing and business management courses, the two partners provide first aid training. This is a far cry from the tanning and discoloured hair of these “watermen” in marketing campaigns. These two fell into it when they were little and start using potion again as soon as the ocean starts to grow.

The portrait could end there. With this image of a raging ocean where the waterman goes swimming or rowing alone.A kind of Lucky Luke in a suit, fins in hand.But Thierry, for a few years now, has decided to pass on his experience and knowledge. And it happened again naturally.

Called to ensure Jet-ski safety alongside Yann Benetrix during the monstrous sessions in Belharra, Nazaré, or Morocco, he was able to measure the challenge of surfing very large waves, beyond 10 meters. And therefore adapt a specific preparation to face such conditions, both physically and mentally.

Managing fear

“My experience of swimming and lifesaving, I easily transposed it to surfing… I tried to bring this taste of effort, discipline and physical preparation to surfers.Work on the oar as well as the swimming gesture, the”lack of oxygen” underwater with changes in rhythm, with, of course, this additional factor that is stress management in these extreme conditions. Manage fear when you find yourself facing such water walls, when you let go of the rope behind the Jet Ski and manage your stress when you fall and when you find yourself underwater for a long time.»

So a question seems totally unavoidable to conclude the portrait of this local figure, that of the candidacy of Hossegor, Seignosse and Capbreton to organize surfing at the Olympics?”

I come from an Olympic discipline, so for me, the Olympics is a consecration, a pride for our sport,” he replied in a voice that would almost betray the phlegma of the fat surfer in front of this new XXL challenge.

Capbreton (40) : Thierry Krawiec, a life on the water

Published on 24/11/2017 at 3:45 am on Sud Ouest by Archibald Jaeckin.

Watermansport Surf School Thierry Krawiec
Thierry Krawiec
Gérant Ecole De Natation Watermansport
  • (+33) 6 29 62 15 81

Horaires : Lun–Dim : 09:00–19:00

Thierry Krawiec, responsable de l’école de natation d’hossegor, Watermansport, est bien entendu brevet d’état de surf mais aussi brevet d’état de natation, moniteur de secourisme et formateur en sauvetage.

Thierry Krawiec connaît la mer par cœur. Portrait de ce passionné attachant, aux multiples activités.

L’eau lui arrive à peine à la taille, ses gestes accompagnent les conseils qu’il donne aux enfants. La combinaison retroussée, posté en plein milieu de la piscine du club Mickey de la plage Sud d’Hossegor, on le voit au milieu des apprentis nageurs, qui travaillent leur technique de brasse, de crawl ou qui, tout simplement, se familiarisent avec ce milieu aquatique que Thierry Krawiec connaît si bien, presque sous toutes les coutures. Une sorte de Philippe Lucas sans les chaînes et les colliers. En plus polyvalent, aussi.

Sa vie est intimement liée à l’eau, qu’elle soit chlorée ou salée. Et aujourd’hui, en se penchant sur son parcours, il est aisé d’y trouver cette continuité, tant chaque étape de sa carrière semble l’avoir préparé au défi qu’il s’est lancé depuis quelques années : préparer les surfeurs aux grosses vagues, aux très grosses vagues. Comme une suite logique, une synthèse de ses expériences passées.

L’élite de la natation

Car avant le petit bassin du club Mickey, où les enfants enchaînent les longueurs, Thierry a connu d’autres bassins, plus longs, plus profonds et surtout beaucoup plus compétitifs. Des bassins de 50 mètres dans lesquels il a fallu s’entraîner, souffrir et s’arracher, pour aller gagner des titres. « Je suis resté au sein de l’élite française de natation pendant une dizaine d’années. Et dans ces sports de chrono, il faut avoir le goût de l’effort. L’encadrement te pousse en permanence avec des objectifs précis à atteindre. J’ai aussi eu la chance d’aller m’entraîner aux États-Unis et en Australie », analyse-t-il.

C’est au cours de ces voyages que le trait d’union s’est fait avec le sauvetage côtier et le surf. « J’ai adoré l’ambiance. Je m’y suis investi totalement. J’ai fini cinquième mondial en individuel, à Sydney, en paddleboard en 2000. Je dormais chez des surfeurs pro que je côtoie toujours et j’ai rencontré des athlètes comme Jamie Mitchell, champion de sauvetage côtier reconverti en surfeur de grosses vagues. »

Lucky Luke en combinaison

Thierry a aussi profité de ce parcours d’athlète de haut niveau pour créer sa propre entreprise et développer des produits adaptés à sa pratique, avec son compère, David Dubès. Reconversion réussie ! Le nom de l’entreprise, Watermansport, basée à Hossegor, les définit tous les deux très bien. Waterman désigne en anglais un nageur accompli, un amateur de grosses vagues et, aussi et surtout, un sauveteur de grande classe.

D’ailleurs, en plus des cours de natation, de surf et la gestion de leur entreprise, les deux associés assurent des formations de secourisme. On est donc bien loin du bronzage et des chevelures décolorées de ces « watermen » des campagnes marketing. Ces deux-là sont tombés dedans petit et reprennent de la potion dès que l’océan gronde.

Le portrait pourrait se terminer là. Avec cette image d’océan déchaîné où le waterman s’en va tout seul nager ou ramer. Une sorte de Lucky Luke en combinaison, les palmes à la main. Mais Thierry, depuis quelques années, a décidé de transmettre son expérience et son savoir. Et cela s’est fait encore une fois naturellement.

Appelé pour assurer la sécurité en Jet-ski aux côtés de Yann Benetrix lors des sessions monstrueuses à Belharra, à Nazaré, ou encore au Maroc, il a pu mesurer le défi que représente le surf de très grosses vagues, au-delà des 10 mètres. Et donc adapter une préparation spécifique pour affronter de telles conditions, aussi bien physiquement que mentalement.

Gérer la peur

« Mon vécu de la natation et du sauvetage, je l’ai facilement transposé au surf… J’ai essayé d’apporter ce goût de l’effort, de la discipline et de la préparation physique aux surfeurs. Travailler la rame comme le geste de natation, le ‘‘manque d’oxygène’’ sous l’eau avec des changements de rythme, avec, bien sûr, ce facteur supplémentaire qui est la gestion du stress dans ces conditions extrêmes. Gérer la peur quand on se retrouve face à de tels murs d’eau, quand on lâche la corde derrière le Jet-ski et gérer son stress au moment de la chute et quand on se retrouve longtemps sous l’eau. »

Alors une question semble totalement incontournable pour conclure le portait de cette figure locale, celle de la candidature de Hossegor, Seignosse et Capbreton à l’organisation du surf aux JO ?

« Je suis issu d’une discipline olympique, alors, pour moi, les JO, c’est une consécration, une fierté pour notre sport », répond-il d’une voix qui trahirait presque le flegme du surfeur de gros devant ce nouveau défi XXL.

Capbreton (40) : Thierry Krawiec, une vie au fil de l’eau

Publié le par Archibald Jaeckin.